Skip to main content

Faculties and Departments

UL offers a range of programmes up to doctorate and post doctorate levels in the disciplines of Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Education, Health Sciences, Science and Engineering.  The University of Limerick has four academic faculties.

 The Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Limerick offers a wide range of undergraduate, taught postgraduate and research based programmes for those looking to study further.

The Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences is a vibrant centre of critical thinking and a generator of nationally and internationally esteemed scholarship. It prides itself on the quality of its teaching and its commitment to research in a disciplinary and interdisciplinary context where debate and discussion are integral features in the development of knowledge and of analytical skills. More Information about the Faculty of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Departments and Schools

The Faculty of Education and Health Sciences (EHS) at the University of Limerick consists of three departments, Nursing & Midwifery, Physical Education & Sport Sciences and Psychology and three schools, the Graduate Entry Medical School the School of Allied Health and the School of Education.

The EHS Faculty is a unique national grouping of six academic departments that include disciplines concerned with education and health. The faculty of EHS have built a reputation for high-quality teaching and programme innovation and work hard to prepare excellent scientists and caring, competent, and critically reflective educators and health professionals who can work successfully with patients, clients, athletes, and post-primary students in an ever-changing multi-cultural society. We strive to provide an optimal teaching and learning environment for our students by continuous reflection on our teaching and by sharing best practices. More information on the Faculty of Education & Health Sciences website.

Departments & Schools

The Kemmy Business School (KBS), University of Limerick (UL), is one of Ireland’s leading business schools – awarded Best Business School at the InBusiness Recognition Awards 2017 for the 2nd year in a row

The Kemmy Business School (KBS) is a dynamic and innovative business school with a reputation, established over 30 years, for providing a first class business education that prepares graduates for successful and rewarding careers in a variety of business disciplines and professions. The commitment to designing study programmes for key sectors of the economy (health services, financial services, tourism) and for key sub-groups of the population (mature students, employed professionals) and in delivering these in innovative and flexible ways (at outreach centres, in-company, distance/ flexible learning) are key characteristics of the School. More information about the Kemmy Business School.

Departments & Schools

The Faculty of Science and Engineering at the University of Limerick Delivers over 18  academic degree programmes in Computing, Design, Engineering, Mathematics and Science.

The Faculty of Science and Engineering offers exciting opportunities for career and personal development in an environment that supports a high-quality undergraduate and postgraduate experience. The Faculty is well recognised for the quality of its teaching and learning, academic programmes and research expertise having three world-class research institutes in the areas of Materials and Surface Sciences, Software Engineering and Mathematics which are underpinned by well-established links with industry. More Information about the Faculty of Science & Engineering

Departments & Schools